Dark Angels primaris commission

I managed to finish this commission in three days (quite proud of myself, usually I’m more of a slow painter), it was very intensive and left me with little time to do other things, but as a payment I got ALL of the Death Guard from he Dark Imperium box, so hope to show those bits soon, obviously un-nurglyfied and turned to Malal! However for now I’ll leave you with this:

IMG_1775As you can see it is a small task-force of Dark Angel primaris marines, I was given the DI box, some DA bits, and a couple of photos of the customer’s army, but was left with complete freedom on how to do them. The only problem I had, the tight deadline, was my own fault, as I was going on vacation and had to finish them before, but it was an enriching experience and I’ve learned a couple of tricks. It had been years since I painted any loyalists!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As basic as the Intercessors are, I like a lot how they ended up looking, the sergeant specially gives me that kind of mysterious vive that Dark Angels should have…

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Inceptors were probably the most painful to paint, as they had a lot of empty space in which I wanted to sculpt and paint some freehands, but I had no time so I managed to contain myself.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I got into some trouble over the Bolter and Chainsword forum for using the Emperor’s Champion sword on a Dark Angel Lieutenant, but the customer is happy and I like how it looks, so as a Chaos player I’ll simply enjoy that heresy.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Again, I would have liked to spend A LOT more of time on the Gravis Captain, it is a model that I don’t really like and would have changed it as much as possible… But this will have to do I guess.

 

Also did a video, I kind of enjoyed the one I made for Magnus and felt that I needed to show this models with Metallica’s Unforgiven song in the background:

THE I LEGION, THE UNFORGIVEN

Overall I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, it was certainly a challenge and would have liked to work more on each of them (sculpt some robes and hoods, paint squad markings, maybe a backpack banner on the lieutenant, etc…) but as I said before, I’ve learned a lot of fast painting, and I’ve gotten a whole bunch of new goodies in exchange, both of which will come in very handy soon, as I’ll have to speed paint almost a whole army for an upcoming tournament!

 

2 thoughts on “Dark Angels primaris commission

Leave a Reply

